- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

* about 
* grilled cheeses 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

mailing list


The Grilled Cheese Grant is an annual community fundraising event and emerging artist grant that provides financial support for undergraduate seniors at The Milwaukee Institute of Art & Design (MIAD) and The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (UWM) who are working towards completing their senior thesis projects in the areas of Fine Arts and Design. The Grilled Cheese Grant was created as a secondary platform for graduating seniors to receive financial support outside of their institution.

The community is invited to a one-night celebration filled with cheese, beer, art, and support for the arts in Milwaukee.

With $5 admission, each attendee receives a grilled cheese sandwich (toppings of your choice are included!) and a ballot. Attendees will cast their vote for one of five finalists. Finalists for the Grilled Cheese Grant are selected through an application process prior to the event by a jury of distinguished artists, educators, and creative minds not directly affiliated with MIAD or UWM.

The grant award amount is dependent on how much money is raised prior to and at the event. Grilled Cheese Grant finalists receive 60% of the total funds to support their projects, 25% is retained by Grilled Cheese Grant organizers, and 15% is donated to Diverse & Resilient, a local sexual advocacy organization that supports the LBGTQ community.  

The winner of the The Grilled Cheese Grant is announced at the event after all the votes are tallied and all the funds totaled. ALL Grilled Cheese Grant finalists will receive a portion of the award winnings, however, the first place winner will receive the largest portion. The goal of the Grilled Cheese Grant is to FULLY FUND the first place awardee’s thesis project and PARTIALLY FUND the projects proposed by the other finalists (amounts are based on the total funds raised). The first place winner along with the first and second runner-ups will receive solo exhibitions at local, Milwaukee gallery spaces in the Fall of 2020 in addition to the monetary awards.

In past years, grant awardee Audrey Jerabek received $789.99, SolAh Do received $535.20, Emma Smith received $768.94, and Vaughan Larsen received $1,060.21. Joe Clark, LaNia Sproles, Nicholas Perry, and Alyssa Kaboskey were awarded solo exhibitions.

Community sponsorships are available for local businesses and organizations that are interested in supporting the event. Donations are also collected through an online campaign in advance of the event.